Archive for January, 2012

Green Enterprise IT (GEIT) Awards due Feb 3rd

Monday, January 16th, 2012

Many of the technologies and end users we showcase in the case studies of the SVLG Data Center Efficiency Summit that I’ve chaired the last few years end up being winners of the GEIT awards. I’ve also been fortunate to have been asked to be a judge of these awards in the past and love to read about technologies and end users pushing the efficiency envelope.

If you have a data center project that pushes energy efficiency to a new level, or showcases a great way of increasing efficiency, take a look at the following information and apply!! A win will be a nice feather in your cap. (You can copy the URLs below to receive more information and apply.)

Do You Have Data Center Energy-Efficiency or Green IT Accomplishments to Showcase?
If so, the Uptime Institute encourages you to apply for the Green Enterprise IT (GEIT) Awards (http://symposium.uptimeinstitute.com/geit-awards). The Institute grants these awards to data center owners, operators and vendors for projects, ideas and products that significantly improve energy productivity and resource use in IT, data centers and beyond. Previous winners include Kaiser Permanente, Harris Corporation, AOL, Helsingin Energia, HP, Itaú, MassMutual Financial Group, Tieto, Capgemini and Verizon Wireless.
The GEIT Awards are open to applicants in all countries and are carefully judged by a committee of independent experts. Award winners for 2012 will be honored at the Uptime Institute Symposium (http://symposium.uptimeinstitute.com/) in Santa Clara, CA, May 14-17, 2012. The theme for this year’s event is Digital Infrastructure Convergence, with a Special Focus on Modular, Prefabricated and Containerized Data Centers.
As innovative leaders, GEIT Award winners are given the opportunity to share their accomplishments at Symposium; winners receive complimentary registrations to Symposium to present a case study, formal recognition during the GEIT Awards ceremony and numerous public relations benefits highlighting their vision and execution.
In 2012, the Institute invites applications in 8 categories:
• Facility Design – Innovation (http://symposium.uptimeinstitute.com/geit-awards/1427-facility-design-innovation)
• Facility Design – Implementation (http://symposium.uptimeinstitute.com/geit-awards/1431-facility-design-implementation)
• Facility Retrofit (http://symposium.uptimeinstitute.com/geit-awards/1432-facility-retrofit)
• IT Retrofit (http://symposium.uptimeinstitute.com/geit-awards/1433-it-retrofit)
• Facility Product Deployment (http://symposium.uptimeinstitute.com/geit-awards/1434-facility-product-deployment)
• IT Product Deployment (http://symposium.uptimeinstitute.com/geit-awards/1435-it-product-deployment)
• Modular Data Center Product Deployment (http://symposium.uptimeinstitute.com/geit-awards/1436-modular-data-center-product-deployment)
• Audacious Idea (http://symposium.uptimeinstitute.com/geit-awards/1437-audacious-idea)
To learn more about the GEIT Awards, visit our website (http://symposium.uptimeinstitute.com/geit-awards) or email us at GEIT@uptimeinstitute.com.
The competition closes at midnight PST, February 3, 2012. Applications require data that can take a few hours to gather, so we recommend you begin as soon as possible!
We look forward to learning about your project,
Uptime Institute
Green Enterprise IT Awards
GEIT@uptimeinstitute.com